The award honors journalists whose careers have had a significant, long-term impact on football in the United States. Wahl died while covering the World Cup.

FRISCO, Texas – The late football journalist Grant Wahl has been honored posthumously as the winner of the 2023 Colin Jose Media Award, which honors journalists whose careers have made significant, long-term contributions to football in the United States .

Wahl died in early December 2022 aged 49 from a heart aneurysm that ruptured while covering the World Cup in Qatar.

He will be honored at the 2023 National Soccer Hall of Fame induction ceremony in Frisco, Texas on May 6.

Wahl’s career has served as a beacon for American football journalism, expanding the game with his coverage for Sports Illustrated, Fox Sports, CBS Sports and his own Fútbol platform with Grant Wahl. He worked for Sports Illustrated from 1996 to 2001, covering college football and basketball.

His writing career is nothing short of legendary and inspiring within the football community. Wahl has covered football on the biggest stages, including World Cups, Women’s World Cups and the Olympics.

Wahl has also been a strong advocate for social justice and has used her platform to speak out for LGBTQ+ rights, most recently wearing a rainbow T-shirt in honor of her brother, who identifies as gay. Homosexuality is illegal in Qatar, where the 2022 FIFA World Cup was staged last December.

Wahl’s football coverage also included two acclaimed books he wrote:

Wahl joins these former Colin Jose Media Award winners: “The Beckham Experiment” on England star David Beckham’s move to LA Galaxy in Major League Soccer (2009) and “Masters of Modern Soccer” on the styles of play of some of the Game’s Greatest Players. Stars (2018).

  • 2020 – Andrew Cantor, Telemundo Sports and other TV broadcasters
  • 2019 – Tony Quinn, photojournalist
  • 2018 – JP Dellacera, FOX and other TV broadcasters
  • 2017 – Jim Trecker, Media Relations
  • 2016 – Paul Kennedy, Football America
  • 2013 – George Vecsey, New York Times
  • 2012 – Grahame Jones, Los Angeles Times
  • 2010 – Paul Gardner, Football America
  • 2009 – Alex Yannis, New York Times
  • 2008 – Ike Kuhns, Newark Star-Ledger
  • 2007 – George Tiedemann, Sports Illustrated/Freelance Photography
  • 2005 – Seamus Malin, ESPN and other TV broadcasters
  • 2004 – Jerry Trecker, Hartford Courant

Source link

Leave A Reply